The Royal Philatelic Society London received more than thirty nominations for the Crawford Medal for books published during the years 2020 and 2021. The Society is pleased to announce the short list of eight from which the Crawford Medal Committee will select the 2022 winner. The winner will be announced at the end of the Crawford Festival on 29 June 2022.

The shortlisted books are:

Slovensko 1938-1945 by Miroslav Bachraty

Analysis of worldwide postal wrappers by John K. Courtis

Postal stationery of Denmark by Lars Engelbrecht

The 19th century issues of El Salvador 1867-1900 by Guillermo F. Gallegos and Joseph D. Hahn

Ceylon: The Pence Issues by Kurt Kimmel and Patrick Pearson

La storia postale della Toscana 1851-1862 by Mario Mentaschi and Vittorio Morani

Os Correios Portugueses 1853-1900 by Pedro Vaz Pereira

The inks of De La Rue & Co by Peter Young.

The Crawford Medal is a silver-gilt medal awarded for the most valuable and original contribution to the study and knowledge of philately published in book form during the relevant period. This Medal is open to world-wide competition and has been awarded by the Society on 88 occasions since the first award in 1920.

The medal is named after James Lindsay, 26th Earl of Crawford, who by the time of his death in 1913 had amassed the greatest philatelic library of his time. The library was bequeathed in its entirety to the British Museum and is today held at the British Library in London.

The medal will be awarded at the end of the newly inaugurated Crawford Festival which will take place on 28 and 29 June 2022 at 15 Abchurch Lane, London EC4N 7BW, the home of the RPSL.

This year’s theme will be: “How to write a book – A practical guide to producing a work of philatelic literature”. For further information contact the Society at or contact Nicola Davies 020 7486 1044 – Select Option 2

Chris King
Chairman of Collections Committee, Past President

Verified by ExactMetrics