16.11.2016 - Swiss Post honours electropop pioneers

(sp/lsn) Tomorrow, Thursday 17 November 2016, Swiss Post will issue a remarkable new postage stamp. The stamp, which has a face value of one Swiss Franc, is dedicated to the musicians Dieter Meier and Boris Blank. Maybe this doesn’t ring a bell: Dieter and Boris are better known as the electropop formation ‘Yello’. If this still doesn’t rich a bell we could point out that ‘Yello’ was the band that composed ‘Oh Yeah’, a song that was originally released in 1985. The composition has acquired a bit of a cult status: it has been used in several movies, including ‘Ferris Bueller’s Day Off’. ‘Oh Yeah’ is also the theme song of Duffman, one of the characters that appear in the animated tv-show ‘The Simpsons’.
Since Dieter Meier and Boris Blank are both from Swiss descent it makes sense that Swiss Post decided to dedicate a special postage stamp to these ‘electropop pioneers’.